Not an accredited safe community?

Become a Safe Community

Accredited Safe Community

Are you living in one of our safe communities?

Safety has been our number one concern for over 12 years. There are 24 accredited Safe Communities throughout New Zealand, which equates to over 2.2 million people living in safer communities because of the SCFNZ initiatives.

The 30 Territorial Authorities that have adopted the Safe Community model and achieved the criteria for accreditation are: Auckland North, Auckland West, Central Hawkes Bay, Christchurch, Hastings, Hutt Valley (Lower Hutt and Upper Hutt Cities), Invercargill City/Southland District, Marlborough, Napier, Nelson/Tasman, New Plymouth. Palmerston North, Porirua, Rotorua, Taupo, Tairawhiti, Tauranga Moana (Tauranga and Western Bay of Plenty), Waimakariri, Wairarapa Region (Masterton, Carterton and South Wairarapa), Wairoa, Waitaki, Whanganui, Whangarei and Wellington.

These Safe Communities have improved their injury rates, through road safety campaigns, falls prevention initiatives, water safety, safety at work, safer public places, reduced alcohol related harm and overall crime prevention.

The process to becoming an Accredited Safe Community is a collaborative one, in which SCFNZ offer guidance and support – we want everyone to live in a safe community.

You will be assigned a contact person within the SCFNZ who will help you adopt the Safe Community model and throughout the whole process. Your application must demonstrate how you apply the following principles:

  1. Leadership and collaboration focusing on improving safety,
  2. The reach of the programmes,
  3. The safety issues concerning the most vulnerable,
  4. Analysis of current safety data with action plans on improvement,
  5. How the evaluation of the programmes will be conducted, and finally
  6. How the safety initiatives will be communicated and networked throughout the community.

Your contact person will offer feedback on your initial application, room for improvement and areas you may need to consider. The team of reviewers will review your final application. A certifying officer will visit your community to witness the community safety efforts. A congratulatory ceremony will be conducted because this is great reason for celebration – keeping all our citizens safe in your community.


  • Contact SCFNZ for guidance and support.
  • Become familiar with the Safe Community model.
  • Submit a Letter of Intent to SCFNZ.
  • SCFNZ will invoice the community for entire process and appoint a key contact person.
  • Submit your draft documentation to SCFNZ.
  • Feedback will be provided on draft within 14 working days.
  • Submit final application document.
  • Receive feedback on your application from the SCFNZ team of reviewers.
  • Host a site visit to demonstrate community safety efforts for the Certifier/Review Team.
  • Conduct a ceremony celebrating your official accreditation.

Accreditation Requirements

Communities seeking accreditation must meet the following six indicators based on the Safe Community model:

  1. Leadership and Collaboration: Demonstration of leadership by a coalition or group focused on improving community safety.
  2. Programme Reach: The range and reach of community safety programmes operating throughout your community/region, including an indication of the extent to which they are based on proven or promising intervention strategies.
  3. Priority Setting: Demonstration of programmes that target and promote safety for high risk/vulnerable groups and environments.
  4. Data Analysis and Strategic Alignment: Analysis of available safety (injury, crime, violence and safety perception) data for your community/region and how they align with established national/regional priorities and action plans.
  5. Evaluation: Outline of expected impacts and how they are being measured or evaluated.
  6. Communication and Networking.

Demonstration of community engagement with relevant sectors of your community/region and on-going participation in local, national and Pan Pacific Safe Communities Networks is required.

Any questions about the application or the process, please just contact us.