Skip to content

Safe Communities

Personal tools
You are here: Home » About SCFNZ » Structure


To ensure that the SCFNZ is able to achieve its vision, goals and objectives and to carry out the management of operational functions. The Director has appointed a team of relevant staff. The Director is accountable to the Board of Trustees and for the preparation of quarterly and annual reports for the Board of Trustees. The legal advisor for SCFNZ is Chapman Tripp.

The current SCFNZ trustees are:

Tania Peters: is the Director  for SCFNZ. Prior to this she held the role of National Programme Manager, and was a researcher/evaluator at the Injury Prevention Research Centre, School of Population Health at the University of Auckland. Formley she had 10 years as a registered nurse both in New Zealand and the United Kingdom. Tania holds a Bachelor in Health Science and has undertaken post graduate studies in health promotion, health management and community development. Her expertise includes: primary healthcare, evaluation, health promotion, community development, injury prevention and the implementation of evidence- based programmes.

She has been a certifier and peer review for in excess of 45 National and International Safe Community designations.   In 2008, in recognition of her outstanding support for Safe Communities at National and International levels, Tania received the New Zealand International Safe Community Award.  Tania’s approach is to work collaboratively with community groups, non-government and government agencies, health and education professionals to influence policy, promote community safety, enhance the quality of life, and reduce the human and social costs of injuries.  Tania is increasingly being recognised nationally and internationally as an effective collaborative leader in the field of community and school safety.  Tania always welcomes the opportunity to share her knowledge and expertise.

George Fairfairn: is a Chairperson/Trustee for SCFNZ.  George qualified as a Chartered Accountant before joining the Automobile Association (Wellington) Inc in 1970.  George brings to the SCFNZ Board considerable expertise in Road Safety and working for a national non-government organisation .   In addition, George has also previously been the Director of Motor Safe (New Zealand) Ltd and Chairman of Students Against Driving Drunk (SADD).  George is a current member of the Stakeholder Reference Group for the New Zealand Injury Prevention Strategy.

Laurie Gabites: is a Trustee for SCFNZ, and Director of Intoto Consultants.  Laurie trained as a Police Officer in the New Zealand Police and spent much of his police service associated with community relations, youth work, and reducing alcohol related harm, family violence and child abuse.  His last few years before retiring from police were at Police national Headquarters in areas associated with family violence and reducing alcohol related harm.  His community work was recognised in 1981 when he was awarded the Queens Service Medal for services to the community.  Laurie was the former Manager, City Safety for Wellington City Council.  This is a small business unit within council solely focused on ensuring the city remains a safe community. Laurie has been a member of the Injury Control Bulletin Editorial Board for the past seven years.

Geoff Wilson: is a Trustee for SCFNZ.  Geoff is currently the Relationships and Development Manager, Site Safe New Zealand.  Previously he was the Manager of the New Zealand Injury Prevention Strategy, Accident Compensation Corporation.

Philip de Lisle: is the Accountant on the Board of Trustees for the SCFNZ and a director of Axiome Consultants.  Philip consults to a wide range of clients on business advisory and portfolio management matters.  He is a qualified chartered accountant and worked for the Reserve Bank from 1981-1988.  He then joined national law firm Chapman Tripp where, over a 10 year period, he held finance and practice management roles in Wellington and Auckland.  Entering practice as a chartered accountant in 1997, Philip undertook substantial consulting assignments with a property development company and specialist taxation firm.  He was a founding shareholder and director of Strategic Asset Management (retiring December 2003).  As a trustee for the SCFNZ he brings his expertise in the field of accounting and financial management.

Although the SCFNZ has offices geographically located within the Auckland region, SCFNZ resources and staff are available to support community groups, ACC and other government and non-government agencies/organizations, TLA's, industry and businesses throughout New Zealand.

Dr Carolyn Ann Coggan MNZM , Founding Director, Safe Communities Foundation NZ, passed away February 14th, 2014, Carolyn was extremely proud of SCFNZ and the many milestones reached by each New Zealand Safe Community. The dedication and innovation shown by each community in making it a safe place to live, work and play is a most fitting reward and recognition to acknowledge the dedication and commitment by Carolyn to the Safe Communities model.

Dr Coggan was the Founding Director with overall responsibility for the management and operation of the SCFNZ.Prior to establishing the SCFNZ in December 2004, Carolyn was the Director of the Injury Prevention Research Centre, and an Associate Professor at the School of Population Health, University of Auckland. Specialising in injury and violence prevention Carolyn’s areas of research expertise include injury prevention, suicide prevention and the evaluation of community interventions. For the past 22 years, Carolyn has worked towards combining evidence-based community safety and injury prevention, to inform the development of a positive safety culture and safer environments aimed at improving health, safety and well-being.  She has authored in excess of 250 scientific and policy orientated publications.  Carolyn has been the lead certifier and peer reviewer for over 75 International and National Safe Community designations/redesignations.  She has also co-chaired a number of International Safe School designations.  In 2008, in recognition of her outstanding dedication and leadership Carolyn was awarded the International Safe Communities distinguished career award.

Carolyn’s approach is to work collaboratively with community groups, non- government and government agencies, health and education professionals to influence policy, promote community safety, enhance the quality of life, and reduce the human and social costs of injuries.  She served as Deputy Chair of the Auckland Regional Amenities Funding Board, as a member of the Stakeholder Reference Group for the New Zealand Injury Prevention Strategy and Co-chair of the Pan Pacific Safe Communities Network.  Carolyn has established a reputation for making sound decisions based on the available evidence in a manner that is solutions focused, yet acceptable to a wide range of stakeholders’ interests. Carolyn exhibited strong leadership both nationally and internationally, and is recognised as a world leader within the field of community safety.Carolyn was recognised in the 2013 Queen's Birthday honours list.  where she received the Insignia of a Member of the Order of Merit for services to health.

Director of SCFNZ Dr. Carolyn Coggan
Director of SCFNZ Dr. Carolyn Coggan
Last modified 2014-05-05 01:16 AM