Skip to content

Safe Communities

Personal tools
You are here: Home » About SCFNZ » Collaborators


The Safe Communities Foundation of New Zealand (SCFNZ) has adopted a collaborative style to its programme of work which utilises a multidisciplinary, cross-sectoral strengths based-approach.For example, SCFNZ Director, Trustees and staff, foster strategic partnerships with government agencies, industry, non-government groups and the wider community. The SCFNZ also strengthens and supports the creation of opportunities for contributing to the scientific bases and practice of community safety and injury prevention through its publications, interactions with government and non-government agencies, as well as the provision of training and resources to academics, policy-makers and practitioners. A wide range of key relationship and strategic partnerships have been formed including, but not limited to, the following:

International level:

  • WHO Collaborating Centre on Community Safety Promotion based at the Karolinska Institutet in Sweden;
  • Australian Safe Communities Foundation;
  • Canadian Safe Communities Foundation ;
  • Other Certifying Centres of the WHO Safe Community Network;
  • Other Affiliate Support Centres of the WHO Safe Community Network;
  • International Injury Research Centres/Units;
  • Safe School Community International Accrediting Centres; &
  • International Injury Prevention and Safe Communities Networks.

National government level : 

  • New Zealand Injury Prevention Strategy Secretariat;
  • Accident Compensation Corporation;
  • Crime Prevention Unit;
  • Ministries (e.g., Local Government, Police, Transport, Social Development, Labour, Health, Housing, Te Puni Kokiri, Justice, Pacific, Education);
  • Other relevant government agencies (e.g., Alcohol Advisory Council, New Zealand Transport Agency, New Zealand Fire Service);
  • Territorial Local Authorities;
  • Runanga;
  • District Health Boards; and
  • Public Health Units.

 National organisational level:

  • Injury Prevention Network of Aotearoa New Zealand;
  • Injury Prevention non-government organisations (e.g., Safekids, WaterSafe Auckland Inc, Water Safe NZ,);
  • Other national non-government organisations (e.g., Plunket, Aged Concern, Federated Farmers, Mental Health Foundation of New Zealand; St John);
  • Maori injury prevention organisations/groups;
  • Industry and other businesses;
  • Injury Prevention Information Centre;
  • Injury Prevention Research Unit;
  • Road Safety organisations/groups;
  • Combined Trades Union and other union organisations; and
  • Professional Bodies and organisations.

Regional/local level:

  • Local community injury prevention coalitions;
  • Community injury prevention practitioners;
  • ACC injury prevention consultants;
  • Maori injury prevention coalitions;
  • Road safety coordinators;
  • Elected members and staff of local districts and councils;
  • Pacific and other migrant group injury prevention coalitions;
  • Industry and other businesses;
  • Educational institutes, schools and the early childhood education sector;
  • Marae and whanau groups;
  • Police;
  • Fire Service staff;
  • Regional representatives of national government and non-government organisations (NGOs); and other
  • Community and service groups
Last modified 2008-08-19 03:28 AM